Society For Risk Analysis Annual Meeting 2017

Session Schedule & Abstracts

* Disclaimer: All presentations represent the views of the authors, and not the organizations that support their research. Please apply the standard disclaimer that any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations in abstracts, posters, and presentations at the meeting are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of any other organization or agency. Meeting attendees and authors should be aware that this disclaimer is intended to apply to all abstracts contained in this document. Authors who wish to emphasize this disclaimer should do so in their presentation or poster. In an effort to make the abstracts as concise as possible and easy for meeting participants to read, the abstracts have been formatted such that they exclude references to papers, affiliations, and/or funding sources. Authors who wish to provide attendees with this information should do so in their presentation or poster.

Common abbreviations

Roundtable: Decentralization: What Might It Mean for Risk Governance?

Room: Salon B   10:30 am–12:00 pm

Chair(s): Sandra Hoffmann

Sponsored by Economics and Benefits Analysis Specialty Group

The U.S., the E.U., and the U.K., among others, are all seeing demand for greater decentralization of governance. What might this mean for risk governance in particular? There is a suite of issues that arise in considering the most effective location of governance, e.g., uniformity vs. variation, legal authority to act, administrative competence at each level, race to the bottom, cross-jurisdiction “leakage,” inter-jurisdictional externalities (national or global public goods). This Roundtable is a discussion aimed at identifying issues that risk analysts need to think about with increased interest in decentralized governance.

Moderator: Sandra Hoffmann (USDA Economic Research Service)
Jonathan Wiener (Duke University, School of Law)
Alison Cullen (University of Washington, Evans School of Public Policy)
John Graham (Indiana University School, of Environmental and Public Affairs)
Regine Paul (Bielefeld University, Sociology, Law and Society Unit)
Ragnar Löfstedt (King’s College London, Centre for Risk Management)

[back to schedule]